Tryouts & Practice

Tryouts
To inquire about potential roster availability, contact Director of Youth Soccer, Lee Kellett at lee@gjoa.org
 
Training Calendar
SC Gjøa Youth Soccer holds practice sessions in a number of locations around South Brooklyn including the Parade Grounds, Red Hook Fields, Dyker Beach Park, Leif Ericson Park and more. Typically, Travel teams practice twice a week outdoors in fall and spring, and once a week indoors in winter. Premier teams practice three times a week in fall and spring, and twice a week in winter. The Gjøa Youth Development Program (professional coaching without league games) is held once a week in fall and spring.
 
Here are important dates for 2017/2018
 

Wed and Thu, September 6 and 7: Travel and Premier practice schedules begin.

Thursday and Friday, September 21 and 22: Rosh Hashanah - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Friday, September 29: Yom Kippur - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Monday, October 9: Columbus Day - no practices.

Tuesday, October 31: Halloween - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Monday, November 6: practices move indoors (tentative, Coach or Team Admins will confirm).

Tuesday, November 7: Election Day - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Friday, November 10: Veteran’s Day - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Thursday and Friday, November 23 and 24: Thanksgiving - no practices.

Monday, December 25 through Monday, January 1: Holiday Recess - no practices. Resume Tuesday, January 2.

Monday, January 15: MLK Day - all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Monday, February 19 through Friday, February 23: Midwinter Recess - no practices. Resume Monday, February 26.

Monday, March 12: practices move outdoors (tentative, Coach or Team Admins will confirm).

Monday, April 2 through Friday, April 6: Spring Recess - no practices. Resume Monday, April 9.

Monday, May 28: Memorial Day - no practices.

Thursday, June 7: Anniversary Day all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Monday, June 11: Clerical Day all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Friday, June 15: Eid al-Fitr all practice sessions are ON for those that can attend.

Wed, Thu and Fri, June 13, 14 and 15: last practice dates for spring 2017 (tentative, Coach or Team Admins will confirm).

This schedule is subject to change. Please check back here and on our home page for changes and cancellations.